The Herb Of Grace

Theology and Poetry, Politics and Prose

A New 4-Part Series: Why I Don’t Believe IN Tradition (But I Stand ON it) April 6, 2008

Filed under: public theology,storying — Joel @ 7:08 pm

I don’t “believe” in tradition as a moral or spiritual foundation, I just think that we need to know where we come from in order to know where we’re going.  I personally don’t want to go where Canada is going, or where the U.S. is going, or even where Greenland is going for that matter.  But I am interested in going where the Church is going, seeking to follow Jesus together, wherever that leads. 

               It is short sighted to only know the story of the Vineyard and take that as enough; it isn’t.  To be fair, it isn’t enough for Baptists, Anglicans, or Catholics either. If Jesus is our Lord and not John Wimber, Charles Spurgeon, C.S Lewis, or Mother Teresa, then we must get to know the whole story (as the psychologist in Office Space says, “go way way way back, deep down.”).  We can’t do it alone or all at once, but we must start, because if we don’t, we may one day be found following not Jesus, but our own culture-run version of him.

 

3 Responses to “A New 4-Part Series: Why I Don’t Believe IN Tradition (But I Stand ON it)”

  1. Matt Wiebe Says:

    great topic, looking forward to it.

  2. masonjars Says:

    this is good Joel. It is so true we have created our own culture-run Jesus…I think sometimes in an effort to steer clear of this, we swing to the other extreme, and become the literal bible believing church…which I have a hard time with..(in my opinion..)
    Thank God for his grace. haha..Sometimes I go crazy trying to “get it all right” ..
    Then I look at the simplicity of Jesus; 100% good, and always the first to serve. Complications and fears have their way of disappearing after that.
    Love you long time my Brosef 😉

  3. becks Says:

    this looks good. I look forward to reading them all!


Leave a Reply

