The Herb Of Grace

Theology and Poetry, Politics and Prose

The Second Sunday in Lent, March 8th March 8, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Joel @ 1:41 am

This reading, drawn from the Northumbria Community, sheds light on the common misconception  that God doesn’t like mess.

“I had a vision of a house.  Every time a crack appeared in the wall, or damage in the house, I dashed out to repair it as quickly as I possibly could…And the Lord said to me, ‘This is what your Christian life is like.  Whenever any cracks appear in the wall that has been built up around about you over the years by the world and by yourself you dash out and you fill in the cracks so that no one is able to see what is inside.  But I want the world to be able to see what is inside.  I want to be able to come in through the cracks into your life and I’m not going to fill them up either, I am going to flow in and out of these cracks.”

David Mattches

 

One Response to “The Second Sunday in Lent, March 8th”

  1. David Mattches Says:

    Hi, strange to read something I wrote over 20 years ago, just below my hero Heri Nouwen, isn’t God good.

    Love in Christ

    David Mattches


Leave a Reply

