The Herb Of Grace

Theology and Poetry, Politics and Prose

Good Friday, April 10th. April 10, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Joel @ 1:01 am

A Good Friday Reflection:

This famous prayer by Thomas Merton is about confusion, danger, depression, and the darkness that so often characterizes the spiritual life.  In it, we can hear the voice of Jesus on this, Good Friday.  Perhaps we can hear him whispering these words as he rose in the morning after a long night in prison, hoping still for another end than that which seemed so horrible.  The darkness of the cross is that horrible, we should not try to protect ourselves or others from this; Jesus was blind with fear, exhaustion, and pain.  It was in this context that he chose to trust in the Father.

“My Lord God, I have no idea where I am going.  I do not see the road ahead of me.  I cannot know for certain where it will end.  Nor do I really know myself, and the fact that I think I am following Your will does not mean that I am actually doing so.  But I believe that the desire to please You does in fact please You.  And I hope I have that desire in all that I am doing.  I hope that I wil never do anything apart from that desire.  And I know that, if I do this, You will lead me by the right road, though I may know nothing about it.  Therefore I will trust You always though I may seem to be lost and in the shadow of death.  I will not fear, for You are ever with me, and You will never leave me to face my perils alone.”

Scripture for Reflection: Jesus before Pilate

“Then the whole body of them got up and brought Him before Pilate.  And they began to accuse Him, saying, “We found this man misleading our nation and forbidding to pay taxes to Caesar, and saying that He Himself is Christ, a King.”  So Pilate asked Him, saying, “Are You the King of the Jews?” And He answered him and said,
“It is as you say.”


Luke 23:1-3

The crucifixion

“When they came to the place called The Skull, there they crucified Him and the criminals, one on the right and the other on the left.  But Jesus was saying, “Father, forgive them; for they do not know what they are doing ” And they cast lots, dividing up His garments among themselves.


And the people stood by, looking on. And even the rulers were sneering at Him, saying, “He saved others; let Him save Himself if this is the Christ of God, His Chosen One.”  The soldiers also mocked Him, coming up to Him, offering Him sour wine, and saying, “If You are the King of the Jews, save Yourself!” Now there was also an inscription above Him,
“This is the king of the Jews.”

Luke 23:33-38

 

Leave a Reply

